You have no idea.
Yep. Still do.
What ACTUALLY happens when you delete a file from your computer?
When a file is created in the hard drive, a new record for it is added to the Master File Table, which is basically a portion of the hard drive containing a database for various attributes about files: name, creation date, access permissions, size, etc.
When a file deletion request is processed, the operating system removes all the metadata for it from the Master File Table, marking the hard drive’s physical storage blocks— called clusters— that are being removed as unused, allowing more files to be written on them later on.
In simpler terms, even if you choose to permanently delete a file, the deleted data is transferred to a memory cache for possible retrieval if required. You can think of it as your computer putting your deleted data’s space up for sale. Once the cache is full, the old data is overwritten by more recently deleted data, so deleted files can only be retrieved within a certain time frame before they’re overwritten.
For more information, check out this link.
Answered by Juan C., Expert Leader.
Edited by: Margaret G
Honestly, there are three words that would make my fucking day if you said them to me. “Let’s go mudding?” Seriously :)
“Out of every one hundred men, ten shouldn’t even be there, eighty are just targets, nine are the real fighters, and we are lucky to have them, for they make the battle. Ah, but the one, one is a warrior, and he will bring the others back.”
The same hands we are trained to kill with… we also love with.